About Yuma Jazz Company

The Yuma Jazz Company has been performing, developing, and recording since 2002. There were the early days at St Paul's Cultural Center & Pop-A-Top (behind a pool table). There were series at the Ramada and the Shilo Inn ("What do you mean there's no food?"). And there were the private functions, from wakes to weddings. Who could forget that New Year's at an RV Park? ("Why are you guys playing so much jazz??!?").

At some point, a style started to emerge and the quintet started recording albums of original tunes. There was Shades After Dark, recorded in November of 2004, 95 North in 2006, Street Scene in 2010, 2014's Intuition and A Night Such As This in 2020. See our CD’s page!

Over the years, the Yuma Jazz Company has developed great ongoing relationships with local entities helping to keep live jazz available. Among them there's Lutes Casino - Lutes Summer Jazz Series, Julieanna's Patio Cafe - Jazz Nights at Julieanna's, and of course, the Village Jazz Series.

The YJC quintet continues to thoroughly enjoy playing together. This is due in part to the personalities of the musicians as well as the group's ability to keep its music fresh by maintaining an improvization-centered approach while keeping performances audience friendly.

Contact us to include great live music at your special event, occasion, or venue!


  • Steven Hennig - trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Jason Arviso - guitar
  • Leo Neblina - bass
  • Brandon Coz - percussion

YJC has also had the good fortune to perform with other fine musicians when the opportunity has arisen, including:

  • Carl Posch - guitar - founding member
  • Jon Knudtson - bass - founding member
  • Brian Carlson - tenor, alto sax - founding member
  • Walter Beasley - Alto Sax
  • Janet Hammer - vocal
  • Gilbert Castellanos - trumpet
  • John Cain - piano
  • Jimmy Caves - piano & vocal
  • Jimmy Griffin - piano
  • Pete Pancrazi - guitar
  • Bryan Stewart - trumpet
  • Ruben Walshe - trumpet
  • David Shaffer - saxes
  • Pablo Bonilla - alto sax
  • Ernie Ortega - trombone
  • Jessica Coz - trombone
  • Eloisa Arviso - vocal
  • Jennifer Wayman - vocal
  • Ryland Croutch - drums
  • Robby Carrillo - drums
  • Jaime Hernandez - drums
  • Damian Flores - drums
  • Cezar Juarez - bass
  • Tab Wilcox - bass
  • Wayne Jones - bass
  • Mark Flint - bass & guitar
  • Steve Embry - piano
  • John Olin - piano